Proofing my book!

I’m still reeling from the U.S. presidential election results. To make matters worse, a deeply disturbing incident occurred in my hometown. I will write a separate post about that later.

Some good news… The proof copy of Red Flags arrived yesterday. Physically, the book is in good shape. I don’t need to change the front or back covers, the margins, the print size, the font, the spacing, or anything else of that nature. It is a healthy specimen!

Here are some photos I snapped with my not-so-smart phone. The real thing looks a lot better.

backcover             frontcover

Now I’m going through the book page by page in search of boo-boos. So far, I only found one small mistake– somehow, a comma and a period ended up next to each other like this ,. But that’s easy to fix.

When I went through the proofing process last year, my friend and fellow writer Nora Cook Smith advised me to start and the end and read the book backwards. It would help me see mistakes that I might otherwise miss. This technique worked with Time Trip: A Dinosaur Musical  and I’m using it again with Red Flags.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Proofing my book!

  1. I like the idea of reading backwards to find mistakes. I’m getting close to that same point with my first self published picture book so thank you for sharing the tip. I wish you all the best with your book release!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

